Annea Lockwood: Living by Ear
Photo credit: Julia Dratel.

Annea Lockwood: Living by Ear

A Distinguished Lecture from Annea Lockwood, American composer.

The lecture will take place in TANNA SCHULICH HALL, followed by a wine and cheese reception in the lobby of the Elizabeth Wirth Music Building. This event is free and open to the general public.

We invite you to share this event via Facebook.


For CIRMMT Students wishing to have their attendance tracked for awards eligibility, please make sure to scan the QR code available at the entrance of Tanna Schulich Hall.


I will trace the unfolding of my work as a composer and its core focus from explorations of glass through sound mapping rivers, geophysical and atmospheric phenomena, to my recent collaborations with the ensemble Yarn/Wire, trumpeter and composer Nate Wooley, and percussionist Vanessa Tomlinson.


Annea Lockwood’s compositions range from sound art and environmental sound installations to concert music.

Recent works include:

  • Becoming Air, co-composed with Nate Wooley, trumpet;
  • Wild Energy with Bob Bielecki - a site-specific installation focused on geophysical, atmospheric and mammalian infra and ultra sound sources, permanently installed at the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts, Katonah,
  • Into the Vanishing Point, co-composed with the ensemble Yarn/Wire – a meditation on the large-scale disappearance of insect populations.
  • History of the Present - the soundtrack of an opera-film by Maria Fusco and Margaret Salmon, commissioned by the Royal Opera House, London (2023), where she worked with recordings made at the peace walls in Belfast, N. Ireland.

Water has been a recurring focus of her work and her three installation sound maps of the Hudson River, the Danube and the Housatonic River have been widely presented.

Annea Lockwood is an Emerita Professor at Vassar College, where she taught for a number of years, and has an honorary doctorate from Clark University. She is a recipient of the SEAMUS (Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States) Lifetime Achievement Award 2020, and was the honoree at the Issue Project Room Benefit in 2021. In 2022 she became a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.