Personal tools

The Science and Technology of Music


Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

2010-2011 Award Recipients

Student Award Recipients (Group Projects)


  • Eliot Britton, Erika Donald and Benjamin Duinker (CIRMMT supervisors: Isabelle Cossette, Sean Ferguson, Fabrice Marandola, Marcelo Wanderley. Jon Wild)
    • Project title: Expanded Performance Trio (EP Trio): A platform for musical research-creation
  • Daniel Donnelly and Andrew Hankinson (CIRMMT supervisor: Ichiro Fujinaga.  Other supervisor: Julie Cumming)
    • Project title: Comprehensive training dataset for early printed music sources 


Student Award Recipients (Single, Interdisciplinary Projects)


  • Michel Bernays (CIRMMT supervisors: Doug Eck, Caroline Traube)
    • Project title: Expression of piano timbre: verbalization, perception and gestural control
  • Song Hui Chon (CIRMMT supervisors: Sean Ferguson, Stephen McAdams)
    • Project title: Investigation of the role of timbre saliency in blending and orchestration
  • Frédéric Chiasson (CIRMMT supervisors: Stephen McAdams, Caroline Traube)
    • Project title: Validating Koechlin's orchestration system with auditory science to compose for orchestra and create
      algorithms for automatic orchestration
  • Meghan Goodchild (CIRMMT supervisors: Stephen McAdams, Don McLean)
    • Project title: Construction and perception of the ‘Awe’ moment in the music-listening experience
  • Trevor Knight (CIRMMT supervisors: Jeremy Cooperstock, Wieslaw Woszczyk)
    • Project title: Open Orchestra -- Automated feature analysis
  • Steven Phillips (CIRMMT supervisors: Larry Lessard, Marcelo Wanderley)
    • Project title: Mechanical design and multi-objective optimization of musical instruments
  • Charalampos Saitis (CIRMMT supervisors: Luc Mongeau, Gary Scavone)
    • Project title: Acoustic analyses, measurements and modeling of string instruments