Personal tools

The Science and Technology of Music

Home Research Research Axes Expanded musical practice

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Research Axis 4: Expanded musical practice

This theme encompasses the artistic branch of CIRMMT's activities (research-creation) and seeks to apply scientific knowledge and technological development to expand musical practice in performance and composition. Research topics include sound spatialization, the creation and performance of new works involving an increasing number of technological devices, the documentation and preservation of the creative processes in the context of music with electronics, as well as the evaluation of the impact of new technology on performance practice. 


Robert Hasegawa (McGill University)*
Robert Normandeau (Université de Montréal)*  
Regular participating members:
Nicolas Bernier (Université de Montréal)*
Alain Berry (Université de Sherbrooke)
Sandeep Bhagwati (Concordia University)*
Denys Bouliane (McGill University)*
Guillaume Bourgogne (McGill University)*
Guillaume Boutard (Université de Montréal)
Martha de Francisco (McGill University)*
Sean Ferguson (McGill University)*
Robert Hasegawa (McGill University)*
John Hollenbeck (McGill University)*
Philippe Leroux (McGill University)*
Aaron Liu-Rosenbaum (Université Laval)*
Fabrice Marandola (McGill University)*
Pierre Michaud (Université de Montréal)*
Robert Normandeau (Université de Montréal)*
Jean Piché (Université de Montréal)*
Jean Rouat (Université de Sherbrooke)
Caroline Traube (Université de Montréal)
Marcelo Wanderley (McGill University)
Wieslaw Woszczyk (McGill University)
Participating Collaborators:
Tom Beghin (Orpheus Institute, Ghent)*
Nick Bryan-Kinns (Queen Mary University of London)
Louise Campbell
Rachelle Chiasson-Taylor (Library and Archives Canada)
Andy Costello*
Ana Dall'Ara Majek*
Zosha Di Castri (Columbia University)*
L. Alexis Emelianoff
François-Xavier Féron (CNRS-LaBRI)
Vincent Fréour (Yamaha)
Kevin Gironnay*
Francisco Gomez Martin (Polytechnic University of Madrid)
Florian Grond
Zachary Hale*
Eliot Handelman
Terri Hron*
Aiyun Huang (University of Toronto)*
Stéphane Huot (INRIA Lille-Nord Europe)
Olivier Lalonde (MusicMotion Technology Inc.)
Analia Llugdar*
Shawn Mativetsky (McGill University)*
Joel Miller*
Cléo Palacio-Quintin*
Ofer Pelz*
Xenia Pestova (University of Nottingham)*
Peter Plessas (Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts)
Amandine Pras*
D. Andrew Stewart*
Zihua Tan*
Alexandra Tibbitts*
Ida Toninato*
Pierre Alexandre Tremblay*
Isabelle Van Grimde (Van Grimde Corps Secrets)*

* denotes primary axis member is affiliated with

Student Coordinators:
Takuto Fukuda 
Landon Morrison


Past leaders and student coordinators